Aportfolio Award for Excellence in Teaching

Aportfolio Award for Excellence in Teaching 

Our Award Recipients 

Rebekah Cummings 2020-21

Ruth Ann Marotta 2019-20

Dr. Joy James  2018-19 

Sarah Zurhellen 2017-18

Tiffany Wilgar  2016-17 

Miles Britton  2015-16 

Deadline February 1st 2022

This award recognizes a faculty member who has effectively integrated the use of Aportfolio into his/her instructional program for purposes of assessing, showcasing, and encouraging reflection on students' work. The faculty member receiving the Aportfolio Award for Excellence in Teaching will receive $300.00 and acknowledgment at the University College awards ceremony in April.

Application Criteria

The award is open to any member of the Appalachian State University faculty who has used Aportfolios in his/her course or degree program. The faculty member should be able to demonstrate the ways in which he or she has integrated e-portfolios into the instructional process.

To apply, prepare a 2-3 page document that addresses the following:

  1. Name, department, contact information
  2. How did you leverage the Aportfolio to support, enhance, or engage students in their learning?
  3. How did you use Aportfolio to assess student learning?
  4. Please share the URL of an exemplary student e-portfolio from your class, and describe why it represents exemplary use of this tool.
  5. Discuss your potential areas of expertise to lead an ePortfolio workshop and to provide materials for shared resources
  6. If you are chosen as the 2022 awardee, would you be available in Fall 2022 to present at a faculty development workshop on ePortfolios?

Please submit these materials to Elaine Gray at grayje@appstate.edu by February 1st, 2022. The finalist for the award will be announced in March.